ClitLit – Women, Romance Fiction and Patriarchal Discourse

December 18, 2009

Me and Romance Fiction

Filed under: quick shots — Jodi @ 12:22 pm
Tags:

I have been fascinated with romance fiction for years. I think this may have had something to do with the fact it’s considered ever-so-trashy, and I’m supposed to be a clever girl and read only ye olde worlde grande literatchoor. Now, I love me some literature, but I also love me some trash. And when it comes to trash, romance fiction is the top of the pile in the public perception.

I don’t want to go into too much detail, because the whole reason I began this blog was to consolidate my thoughts on romance fiction – of which I have many – into something cogent that I could run with. I’m considering beginning a PhD in English sometime in the next few years and the interaction of romance novels with gender roles is something I want to examine. Therefore, I will begin with my first essay on romance fiction, originally published on Feministing Community, which also contains some of my thoughts on romance novels, and a quote I just read, which neatly synthesised several things I’ve been thinking for a while.

And then… let’s see where we end up, shall we?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

